See ya 2013, Ahola 2014!

2013 was one crazy year. It was both insanely busy and then had weeks, if not months where it felt all I did was get up around 1pm, try and do some work – still feeling hungover- a heavy fatigue that I just can’t shake (even though I hadn’t touched liquor in months)  and by the time 5:30pm had come around I was running a bath & was already in bed by 7pm. I had literally 4-6 hours out of bed for weeks at a time.
Equally, when I had to get up to go to work or on my better days, I did LOADS of amazing cool things. I drew at the International Health Expo in London for NHS Commissioning Board, I drew loads of other things for them too, I drew at my job in London a few times, I drew INSIGNEO a new cool NHS & University of Sheffield research center. I drew other things for the Uni of Sheffield, I drew TEDxSHF, I drew Doc/Fest, I drew loads of other things too that took me around the UK. When I wasn’t doing that, I was doing a bit of teaching or designing websites for a few art things. And when I wasn’t doing that, I was going to interviews, spitting feathers about whether I had done what it needed to get a place at Uni to study Radiation Oncology.
The winter months turned into spring which turned into summer. My bed felt the same, and lets not forget how cold last year was (although judging the weather today – I’m like daaaayuuumm- IT’S COLD). I went back to America, had another super summer – which was to be my last- but this time with 2 of my fellow comrades and we roadtripped across the USA.  I came back, had more medical shizzle, went and enrolled onto my intense healthcare course. Drew some more stuff for lots of people! I’m now working on a few things for TalkTalk. And went to Paris.
The new year always makes me real nervous because I just don’t know what is in store… Great things can’t last forever, right? But all I can do is hope, and work hard. Keep my eye on the ball and take chances.  Here is to REALLY hoping that my prognosis for 2014 is even better. Thanks for helping make it so, you guys.
Each year I do a blog setting what I want/would LOVE to happen in the year ahead. It seems to kind of work. Who knows whether it would have happened  anyways or by writing it, it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy or indeed if it was because I took the time to write this  list and it’s magic! (so taking no chances on anything). Here is my new list. It’s pretty much the same as last year with some re-thoughts. But I can’t stress enough my main goals are to:
STUDY-HARDER
BE MORE MOTIVATED
NOT WASTE TIME
WORK HARD (ER)
MAKE A DIFFERENCE (IN A POSITIVE WAY, SOME HOW)
MAKE TIME FOR FRIENDS
HELP OTHERS
HAVE MORE FUN
ADVENTURE
WHAT I WISH WISH WISH for in 2014: Keeping the same values/wishes/hopes/resolutions as last year:
  1. That my mom, bro, nan and friends are all super happy, heathy and that NO ONE DIES! Including ME! But I would die instead of the above people if it has to come down to that.
  2. Last year, and the year before that I asked for a job  that I enjoyed. I ended up getting at lots of cool small ones!  So thank you 2013 for an amazing job year;  PLEASE New Year help me find these golden eggs of opportunity and help me reach my potential. Help me make GREAT/BETTER impressions at the places where I currently work. Let me move small mountains. Please find extra work to fund me through uni. Please find me more amazing opportunities. Let me be BETTER. WORK HARDER. Even more so, PLEASE provide me with opportunities to help others and to make a positive difference! Esp. in radiotherapy.
  3. Make extra time for friends, make sure i actually see friends who live else where. Don’t let money define this.
  4. This year I need to be more motivated. Be more time-focused. Less TV and more drawing. More studying less sleeping. More blog work updates, less scrawling through the Facebook time-line. This is also very, very do-able if I just organize my priorities too! I need to make more great art-works rather than just research and develop ideas that never get shown. I need to remember the stuff I learn in class!
  5. I really really hope that i can make a positive difference this year, help others that need it, and make the world a place i’m proud to live in.
  6. More teaching opportunities PLEASE! This is a must if i want a chance at achieving number 5!
  7. I would like to interact with people better, so I can communicate effectively and be wayyy more better and likeable esp for clinical placement.
  8. As with any artist, any exhibition/residential/print opportunities no matter how small or little they may seem all adds to the endless cannon of critical thinking and art practice!
  9. I need to become more motivated to learn my material… I can only make the difference I want to make if I am disciplined enough to sit down and dedicate the time to master my craft. Please give me the strength, the focus and the motivation – and mostly the energy to do this!
  10. I just want to feel normal again. Like not have bone ache, or nightsweats, where i could get up in the morning and not feel insanely hungover despite not actually touched alcohol in weeks. I want to not feel SUPER tired for NO reason anymore. I want to be fit, i want to be healthy again, i just want my body and health back from circa 2006 (that was a good year ha!) I’d even take health back from circa 2010.
  11. I’d like to take up running, agaaaaiiiinnnn.
  12. I know I can’t travel like I have done previous years, but I would absolutely love to visit USA again & do lots of small local EU travelling like to Italy!

Thanks 2013 for a dope year, 2014 I know you’ve got my back. Here’s to hard-work, game changing, trying to stay focused, fighting against the ordinary daily events, challenges and finding ways or re-focusing when things might not work out exactly as we might want them to. TO FRIENDSHIP yo!

Leave a Reply

