Getting Back to the Studio…

It has been a very nice vacation. And where as the remaining weeks of 2010 and up to April 2011 were mostly me trying to make money and get a sell-out job (unsuccessfully, i might add), this time i think i’m going to do the opposite. I have a bit of money in my bank now (not a lot but at least I don’t owe Halifax anything). Enough money to not worry about Halifax charging me £1 interest a day for being in my over-draft (yes, future students DO NOT get your student bank account with the Halifax- try HSBC or something).  I read this great book (whilst pretending to be contemplating buying it in a bookstore in Seattle) on Ai WeiWei on blogging.  I loved it. Finally, I feel justified in my random, teenage tinged rants on the artworld and my social-class status. I like that this too, this sort of release is also part of the artist thinking/making process for some.

Whatever. When I get home, I’m starting back onto my what I call “real contemporary pretentious art projects/practice.”  Life is going to be much sweeter. It takes a long trip to gain perspective, or perhaps a 3 week trip alone, or perhaps about 14 individual trips over a period of time to gain perspective.

I like to write what I want to do, or going to do on my blog as it serves as some sort of semi-permanent archive of what I did and didn’t do. This then motivates me to actually do it. Most of the time. So here it is:

  • START GROWING A GARDEN (only a few spots first)
  • START COLLECTING INTERVIEWS AND MODELLING MY MISSION FOR MY BOOK.
  • GET AN ACTUAL ART STUDIO/OR AND/ ACTUALLY MAKE THAT CONTEMPORARY DIALOGUE ENGAGING WORK
  • WORK ON MY ILLUSTRATION PORTFOLIO
  • NETWORK MORE AND TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OPPORTUNITIES MORE
  • BE THANKFUL FOR EVERYTHING
  • HELP MY MOM DO-UP THE KITCHEN
  • START FIXING UP OLD BIKES INTO COOL LOOKING BIKES
  • RE-LAUNCH CAKE PROPERLY THIS TIME
I think this should be enough. I shall give you a progress report in about a months time on this.
Leave a Reply

