Nearly another year older: 29 things to do by next year.

Tomorrow, I turn another year older into my late 20’s.  Slowly, slowly edging ever more closer to 30. It’s crazy because I still feel 21 in my head. I still get I.D’d for booze at bars and if I’m really trying it on, I still get Teen cinema tickets at the local Odeon. 

But my life is that of an 18 year olds. I still rent, I don’t even own a wok (this is going to change), no kids,   no pension. I’m still a student, albeit I prefer researcher  now (PhD). Getting really sick in my 20’s kind of funked things up a bit. I lost time for making and meeting people and things. I lost money, and I spent a whole-lot of it when I got it — YOLOing or trying to find cures for my fatigue.

By societies standards, I’m not a success. But in my own standards (and I think this is what matters) I’m relatively happy with where I am right now.  I mean, I am alive. I get to travel, I get to do what I love every day. I get to try and make a difference. And my life is sweeter than it ever was before, because the stakes are higher. I feel time is like an old friend who helps me to see things with much more clarity. I have incredible friends & family who are there for me, every-step-of-the-way.    

As I missed New Years being sick, and as I enter the year of Copper on the periodic table: I feel like I aim to see things differently: 

glass: more sea, less broken 

music: more live, less elevator

dreams: more lucid, less fever

flies: more dragon, less horse

fires: more camp, less brush

roads: more country, less service

slides: more water, less land

light: more moon, less brake

letters: more love, less demand

sins: more carnal, less original.

Here’s 29 things I am going to do this year

1.) stare at the stars with the people I love.

When I fell sick, my first night of wide-eyed clarity was spent  staring at the milky-way on the ballfield on an island in New Hampshire. USA, thinking about all the things I haven’t done & might never get to do. Now when I look at the night sky. it shifts me back to that feeling, being part of the universe, but also grounds me. I feel the weight of time. It’s beautiful, and technically we’re just staring at the past. What better thing to share with people you love? Time travel.

2.)  make my own ice-cream

When I stayed with Tizzy & Tara in Washington DC in 2011, we drunkly came home & I really wanted some ice-cream. All they had was Lavendar and honey. I thought it would be gross – but I was SO wrong.  chomped it all and felt guilty. I’ve never been able to find this ice-cream, ever again, since. I will re-create it this year.

3.) go to the coast of italy and draw the towns from the sea.

4.) design my own typeface/font.

5.) straddle the International Date Line

6.) tell my mom I love her

7.) Play the piano 

8.) run

because who knows when you might not be able to

9.) go surfing

10.) write & perform a song

11.) grow some vegetables

easy vegetables to grow, like.

12.) get a real christmas tree at christmas

13.) go to Japan

this will be a testament, Japan’s been on the bucket list for years

14.) learn to cook more new dishes than i  have ever done before

15.) do something I’m afraid of doing

16.) ride my bike more

17.) live in a world that loves all people

we should all aim for this

18.) budget

lol

19.) have fun without technology  

20.) take nothing for granted 

21.) try and stop feeling like i’m running out of time

22.) take more 35mm film photos

23.) do more for charities and help people more

24.) People

The most important aspect of out lives are perhaps the people around us. My goal is to stay in touch with family and old friends, and to constantly strengthen the bridges built over time.

25.) finally update my damn website

26.) see more sunrises and sunsets

27.) remember that what matters most is how well you walk through the fire

28.) pay my bills & debts on time

lol

29.) laugh at the odds 

**(+ bonus which doesn’t need to be said but: 30.) Enjoy my PhD)**

Happy New Year friends

cl98k7nwgaaz1hr

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

Leave a Reply

