Smizz’s Bucketlist – Revisited – Nearly a year on

In a few months time, it will be a 2 years anniversary of when I got told that I might have cancer. A Lymphoid Malignancy to be exact. I’ve spent many, many posts dedicated to trying to get my head around not having an ultimate certainty that most 24 year olds have.

When you’re young, you kind of feel invinsible. Not in a Superman way – but in a – Oh yeah, let’s buy concert tickets for next year, or in 5 years we’ll buy a house sort of invincible. You make promises to do something awesome in the near future. In my case – I bought some plane tickets to NYC. My Doctor told me that I needed to cancel my trip.

And sure , the future is of course a never existing thing – a constraint of a “big picture” and no-ones future is ever a certainty – as you could get hit by a car or be in a natural disaster. But I’ve always thought I’d never make it to 30. I’ve always had this feeling that I wouldn’t live to be old. You can ask any of my  friends from high-school, I’ve always said this. But I always assumed it would be a tragic bike accident or something, not an illness. I mean, it still could be a bike accident that kills me off, but you know?

What does this mean for me? This past year has just ruined my bigger picture over-all. But that’s not a bad thing necessarily. I think sometimes it’s better to focus on smaller pictures, and so that these smaller pictures can eventually add to a collage of a more interesting big-picture.  “I’m on a roller coaster that only goes up, my friend.”

There is no shortage of fault to be found amid our stars. So, guys, I’m here for a good time, not a long time!  Last year I was worried that I wouldn’t make it back to the USA again. I panicked and made a Bucketlist.  And so here it is, this is an very incomplete, living list, re-evaluated, re-wrote. Over time, I’ll update it to add things I’ve forgotten and to cross off things I’ve accomplished.

  1. Show an internationally renowned gallery
  2. Get published in a nationally-distributed print publication
  3. Be on the cover of a major magazine
  4. Stay in a new country/ one place for a full year
  5. Own a genuine William Powhida artwork
  6. Learn to properly carve wood
  7. Skydive
  8. Run a marathon (practicing 5-10k runs in prep for this)
  9. Sail South America
  10. Learn to cook (I can obviously cook, but I wanna be amazing & i’m beginning to learn the craft)
  11. Speak Italian fluently (Started this)
  12. Live in Italy for a whole year
  13. Get a drawing on the cover of the New Yorker
  14. Surf
  15. Go to the Big Sur
  16. Ride the trans-siberian railway from China to London
  17. Create something that touches a hundred million people
  18. See actual lava
  19. Experience not being super scared to check my bank balance
  20. Create a piece of life-saving research
  21. Actually finish University & get a job straight away into Radiotherapy & Oncology/Medicine
  22. Give away a billion dollars
  23. Learn to make proper awesome cocktails
  24. Teach/Learn at an Ivy League University
  25. Sit in the Oval Office
  26. Meet Obama
  27. Buy a round of drinks for an entire bar
  28. Visit all of Thailand
  29. Visit Japan, specifically Tokyo
  30. Visit NYC
  31. Visit California
  32. Live in Brooklyn
  33. Live in Brooklyn again and for longer!
  34. See all 50 USA States! (up to 42 currently)
  35. Visit Patagonia
  36. Teach at University level
  37. Write a sit-com
  38. Be in a movie
  39. Live in LA or San Francisco
  40. Have my work printed in a Taschen Published book
  41. Work for a cool start-up
  42. Bike  at least 1 part of the Tour De France
  43. Find Love
  44. Visit Hawai
  45. Travel First class on a plane & not pay to do so
  46. Do what you love
  47.  Love what you do.
  48. Go to New Orleans
  49. Draw a TEDx Talk
  50. Sleep on a beach & look at the stars
  51. Go to a SNL live recording
  52. Skateboard down a San Francisco hill.
  53. Go to Bali
  54. Learn to Snow Board
  55. Live in Canada
  56. Make a positive difference
  57. Do something worth-while for others
  58. Private
  59. Private
  60. Private
  61. Private
  62. Private

Things that should always be strived for:

-Find true-love

– Be loved

Be a better person

– Be thankful for every day and all the amazing friends I have.

– Do what you love, and LOVE What you do (continue)

3 thoughts on “Smizz’s Bucketlist – Revisited – Nearly a year on

  1. LOVE the bucket list, Smizz. You will live to be 100+. I believe in your health and your invincible spirit. Thank you for your fiercely awesome talent, grace, and courage!

Leave a Reply

