Today I go to the Big Sur: A place I never thought I’d ever get to.

Today I go to the Big Sur: A place I never thought I’d ever get to. Mainly because I can’t drive – and how else would I get there. The hotels are expensive and there’s no public transport that goes close.  But I’ve ALWAYS wanted to go here, even for a few hours. Just to see it. I want to see the purple sand, I want to climb across the cliff tops. Feel real. Go to that place that Jack Kerouac writes about, that the kid in Into The Wild runs aways to.

I hope it’s as beautiful as i think it will be. And even if it’s not. I don’t care. I got there.

In less than a weeks time, my dream trip will be over. I will be on a plane going home to confirm whether I really do have Lymphoma, or hopefully something less dramatic.

And yet, here I am, I’ve never felt so alive (despite, you know, feeling yucky still). I got to spend the summer on an island in the middle of a beautiful lake in New Hampshire doing arty stuff,  spent lots of time in Boston with friends, reconnecting with old friends on the road, and make new friends along the way. I don’t think I’ve laughed as constantly as much as I have done in years. I just saw the sun set and rise above the clouds, on the beach, on the road, over the Grand Canyon, in the dessert, on the Mississippi, over skylines and rooftops and the clearest night skies in the world. I visited Napa, Santa Cruz, Monterey and soon the Big Sur for the first time, and ticked things off the bucketlist which I had no idea were on there. Ate the freshest fruits, the greatest foods. I’ve just seen 18 states in one roadtrip. I take a flight back to the East Coast tomorrow, where my friend is going to pick me up at 1am in the morning at JFK to take me back to New England to spend time with more of my friends – for just 2 nights -and see the real beginning of the foliage and drive me back to NYC to spend my last days in USA with my new-york-adopted family.

It took me a potential life-threatening “unifying diagnosis” for me to see just how loved I am. And how grateful I am just to be loved. Dear friends, I am humbled and grateful for your support and your love. I’m not a lovey-dovey type – My street-cool-edge-britishness doesn’t allow such a thing. But I know i don’t say it enough. But i love you all.

Whatever the outcome: Here’s to living life, how it should be lived – minute by minute.Happiness only exists when shared.

2 thoughts on “Today I go to the Big Sur: A place I never thought I’d ever get to.

  1. Oh, I loved this post, Smizz! I am so proud of you for making this dream trip a reality.
    I HATE that I’m going to miss you while you’re back in New England (what lousy timing!) but I have grand intentions of us getting together again soon – on one side of that pond between us or the other.

    I just met you (and this is crazy…) but if the love I feel for you after only knowing you a couple of months is anything like your friends and family who have known you for years? Well, my friend. You are truly cherished and loved 10,000 times over.

    Safe travels back East. Keep using that time wisely!!!

  2. Perhaps it truly is per day of extended playing for your
    youngster, or even a day complete of physical work and even entertaining activities of sun and
    enjoyable, but regardless of the reasoning, the occasional snoring session not
    only is tolerable by the rest with the family, but even somewhat all-natural due to the extremely deep sleeping patterns that occur with occasional more than
    exertions.

Leave a Reply

