Lovely Book Covers

I really can’t stop looking at book covers.  I will buy a book if the cover is awesome and I have some money to burn in my pocket.

One thing I’ve noticed this year is that, irregardless to the whole iPad/Kindle/E-Reader influx, there’s been a huge increase in books that are beautifully, beautifully crafted – from soft covers, to heavy-weight paper with italian -3 chrome coloured matt ink print, beautifully bounded books. You should get down to your local bookstore (WH Smith’s doesn’t count) to check these out!

In addition to this, there’s alot of cool book projects wanting to be funded on kickstarter.com – these tend to be phenomenally designed and crafted on crafty ideas!  I’ll probably blog about that shizzle later!

Laurence King never fail to deliver quality design book and this is no exception. I love it when the design spills over the edge of the cover like this delightfully simple jacket.
Laurence King never fail to deliver quality design book and this is no exception. I love it when the design spills over the edge of the cover like this delightfully simple jacket.

hector and the search of hapiness, françois lelord: penguin

This is an awesome book. I read it in about an hour in a bookstore in NYC when I was trying to save money by a.) not window shopping and b.) researching book design for the book I AM currently designing, so I didn’t have to buy them!  I would recommend this book, totally, because it’s beautifully written with heart and with a bit a comedy. It really makes you think about what factors do actually make you feel happy and what we should strive for in life and not just want a capitalist society tells us what we should want to achieve. In the end I realised that I am totally happy!  (Although a good job that I would enjoy and a bit of money saved up in the bank wouldn’t go a miss!) The cool thing with the book design is that it has some great tiny illustrations within, and the alignment of the text with the font makes it sort of cute. Great choice on the sans serif font.

 

This beauty won Best Illustrated Book at the V&A Awards this year and rightly so. As much as I love the film (released as The Iron Giant), I’ve never had an urge to pick up the novel until now.

This beauty won Best Illustrated Book at the V&A Awards this year and rightly so. As much as I love the film (released as The Iron Giant), I’ve never had an urge to pick up the novel until now.

 

 

The title typeface works great with the wee illustrations, somewhat surprisingly. The lovely warm colour scheme really draws you in too.

The title typeface works great with the wee illustrations, somewhat surprisingly. The lovely warm colour scheme really draws you in too.

2 thoughts on “Lovely Book Covers

Leave a Reply

