Back in New York City

Friday night, I’m in New Hampshire. Spending what I think is going to be my last night. The threat of Hurricane Irene is on the news, but we’re in New England so it’s no biggy. People post stuff on Facebook to government and news travel warnings for those going to/leaving/ already in NYC. I think, no biggy. It’s NYC. Nothing shuts it down, and if it does – NYC seems a cool place to weather a tropical storm. I was wrong. Friday night my bus ticket was refunded for my saturday travel and in a NYC second I was stuck in New Hampshire. Having just made a concious decision to leave work i was unprepared to go back a sit out a storm on an island in the middle of a huge lake with a bunch of kids and adults.

So i waited the storm out with my good friend Sam Breed, and he showed me Portsmouth. And we saw a concern in a park – which turned into a concert in a pub because of – well – the hurricane storm. i tried many different types of beers and foods including a perfect blueberry ale. The storm came and went with 55mph winds – nothing short of a british summer. disaster struck with the storm disrupting the internet and cable – but the power was still on.

I had to book an overly expensive ticket from portsmouth to NYC over the phone, but was impressed by the c&j bus service. You get complimentry drinks like coca-cola on the bus, a decent bathroom, 2 films, and free wifi with huge specious chairs and an express service that takes less than 5 hours. = awesome!?!

So here I am. New York City. My mission here before I bounce to San Francisco, Portland, Seattle, DC, Pittsburgh, NYC, Boston, NYC again, home? is simple. To catch up with the real world. Read magazines, research more type fonts and design for a book that’s going to be released in LA, and plan out my very own book on BIG DREAMIN’ : journeys of people living their dream job in the creative industries and how you can do it too! 

It feels great to be back in civialization! And I can’t wait to shower tonight! New York City, get at me!

Leave a Reply

