Working in a bookstore DESIGN picks for Xmas PART 1

I spend my time between either chatting up people to buy linksaves, attempting to make riverting book-selling conversation with customers or shelving. Shelving is actually my favourite thing.  I get to look at the cover, typography, printing, publisher and designer as I take the book to the correct area.  In my head i do a mini critique on book covers and designs.  Sometimes I have to share them, but not sure if people digg what i digg. But designers/ illustrators/artists/ proper book lovers/ect will.  Here’s some of my favs. Check it!

 

This is a great book full of a fantastic ideas and concepts. Luckily for us design-types it’s reflected nicely in the cover design.

This is a great book full of a fantastic ideas and concepts. Luckily for us design-types it’s reflected nicely in the cover design.

Bold and beautiful is the best way I can describe this cover. Seeing hardback at work everyday for the past few weeks has really made me want it, despite being previously unfamiliar with Franzen’s work. Definitely the sign of a good jacket.

Bold and beautiful is the best way I can describe this cover. Seeing hardback at work everyday for the past few weeks has really made me want it, despite being previously unfamiliar with Franzen’s work. Definitely the sign of a good jacket

Even without amazing old school rice bag, this would be a pretty awesome cover. Giving the book an alternative to a dust jacket like this however, which is as practical as it is aesthetically pleasing, simply takes the packaging to the next level.

Even without amazing old school rice bag, this would be a pretty awesome cover. Giving the book an alternative to a dust jacket like this however, which is as practical as it is aesthetically pleasing, simply takes the packaging to the next level

This cover is just as delicate and sophisticated as the art of French cooking itself. It suits the book perfectly.

This cover is just as delicate and sophisticated as the art of French cooking itself. It suits the book perfectly. Trust me, there aren’t many cook books that I would like to buy. This surprisingly is one of them, even though I’m pretty sure I really have no desire to do French Cooking. I actually wasn’t a fan of the movie.

I just started work at Waterstone’s a couple of days ago and this cover really stood out this afternoon.  It might be the fact the subject matter appeals to me too but I reckon it deserves to be posted up here. Using as many typefaces as this on one cover can be tricky, but this design handles it with perfection.

Ever since working at the bookstore, this cover really stood out to me.  It might be the fact the subject matter appeals to me too but I reckon it deserves to be posted up here. Using as many typefaces as this on one cover can be tricky, but this design handles it with perfection.  It’s now on my xmas list.

This cover really stood out to me when walking past Waterstone’s the other day. It’s fantastic and I’m reading Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas right now so it really caught my eye.

This cover really stood out to me when it was on a 3 for 2 offer. It’s fantastic and I’m reading Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas right now so it really caught my eye.

 

Art of McSweeney’s was created by the McSweeney’s staff and published by Chronicle Books to commemorate their 11th anniversary, this book showcases their award-winning art and design across all the company’s activities.  I think they deserve a whole post dedicated to themselves.

The Ivy Look

It’s pretty much official. The 1960s are seriously cool. They’ve been cool before, but this time round, it’s different. The whisky tumblers, the Betty Draper dresses Louis Vuitton is parading down the catwalk, the sets that have got the blogosphere humming with envy, the Helvetica poster – it’s all seeping into our everyday lives. And this book just makes something super cool and hip for your coffee table.

A Tiny Bit Marvellous

Everyone loves Dawn French, and I imagine everyone will love Dawn French’s book cover. Simple and sorted! Fun, elegant and indeed just a tiny bit marvelous.

The Map as Art: Contemporary Artists Explore Cartography

According to Waterstone’s website, this book is going to be published in mid-december 2010. This is a lie. I own this book. And it’s a must for anyone interested in the local, map, journey ect as a form of design, art, illustration.

A Moveable Feast - Lonely Planet Travel Literature

Don’t read if you’re super hungry because it won’t help you in anyways. I loved this cover, the print inside the book is well thought through too. A classic for anyone who is getting itchy feet.

Driving Over Lemons: An Optimist in Andalucia - Lemons Trilogy

Eternal optimist and itinerant sheep shearer, moves with his wife Ana to a mountain farm in Las Alpujarras, an oddball region in the south of Spain. The cover totally captures this crazy optimistic adventure across the continent.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

