getting back to ARTistInG // john davies rachel whiteread ‘house’ exhibition

i haven’t made anything for like a week, and it;s driving me insane. I’m not quite sure where to go next or whether to continue. this is what I HATE about assessments. Luckily I have a tutorial early next week; but it is driving me insane. I feel like if I look for research, focussing my ideas and artist inspiration that it will come. No such luck. All I’ve managed to do is continue furthur my confusion. But at least I’m reading I guess!

So next week back to the drawing board – for real. I got to go back to drawing to map out where I want to go. I wanted to paint; but most of my paints are at home in the Donx – so until I go back (im not planning too soon) I can’t really paint. Plus I think I just need to satisfy my painting needs – I don’t think it will develop into anything.


rachel whiteread ‘house’ 8 © john davies
courtesy michael hoppen contemporary

john davies rachel whitehead ‘house’
at: michael hoppen gallery
on now until january 31st

on display at the michael hoppen gallery, london is ‘house’ by rachel whiteread,
documented by john davies. rachel whiteread is known for creating sculptures taking
the form of casts. in 1993 whiteread created the ‘house’ series by spraying liquid concrete
into the building’s empty shell before its walls were removed. the work became a temporary
monument to lost communities and a focus for public debate before it was demolished
in january 1994. the images are now all that remain of the house, the site and the sculpture.


rachel whiteread ‘house 1’ © john davies
courtesy michael hoppen contemporary


more:

http://www.michaelhoppengallery.com

Leave a Reply

