English culture is so Jamaican

I’m not quite sure where my ancestory lies perfectly. I have a ‘Father’ from Ireland, and my mom was adopted but her roots lie somewhere in America and Wales (random right?). If adoption counts (which i think upbring trumps biology anyday) My Grandad is from Poland, and My gran from Ireland. My Nanna (adoptive parent) is from YoRkshire and grandpa who i never met, i dunno because I never asked.

I do know being from Ireland somewhere along my near family near that my ancestors were sent into slavery in Barbados by Cromwell in the 17th Century so I, too, may have West Indian roots. But i’m still the only white kid rocking around this place. Caribbean culture is so Irish, but with better music and visuals. Still, it doesn’t make me feel any better. I need a job that pays my rent! Ah screw rent, I need a job that pays for my trip! To find myself. Myself as a person, and ultimately as an artist. If i find my own identity – won’t the artist thing come naturally?

The English ran out of Irish so then looked to Africa … My Grandad was tortured by Germans in the camps, so surely that gives me some terroritry around the area of Jewish roots… genocide and identity crisis furthering my own confusion with myself. Anybody know anything about Barbados? It explains “Pirates of the Caribbean, no? And explains Peter Doig, don’t it?

I’m that gangbanger who you met in the morning going for your Dunkin Donuts? I have cousins who were white gangbangers friends from highschool and are now in prison.

Caribbean culture is so Irish… thats so Polish, that is so English… which is so American which is so Canadian which is so French, which is so Spanish  that is so Mexican… that is so South American which is so Indian which is so Arabic which is so Chinese that is so Japanese that is so American that is so Irish that is so Carribbean which is so Smizz.

So yeah. I’m confused but I wish I was in NYC for the gangbangers and West Indian Parade.

I’m an irish, polish, american, welsh kid with links to the carribean and jewish history. ULtimately, I am english because i was born and bred in la donx. Which is the top of the chain for all white and white only culture, so I don’t fit in here either.

and remember, don’t wear white after labour day

I got that sorted, I just dont wear white!?

Leave a Reply

