Tate and street art

I’m not sure what I think about this. My intital reaction is,”hells yeah!” But until I see it (next week) I’m going to act nutural towards one of my fav phenomons. The problem I have with it, is the act of which street art is treated as an artworld commodity. It looses it’s intigrity, it’s context and it’s meaning. From working class art – to the middle classes going and looking at it suggesting that it’s either not art; or that us working class graffiti artists can do something alright in art.

I’m in a rush getting ready (yet i post a post?) I’ll post something about this later on in the week along with some PAD/D stuff. Watch this space.

Until then here is the Tate’s graff films, which look pretty awesome. I reckon I won’t be able to get down 2 London then, so you guys need 2 check it for me!

One thought on “Tate and street art

  1. It was incredibly lame. The Tate is desperate for any new thing they can fix in time and solidify. It’s a shame those artists got involved. Street art means its in the street! Some of the artists even let the Tate make stickers of their art to sell in their shop. Talk about commodification. I mean how difficult is it to make your own stickers? Why would you buy a printed street art sticker and stick it up? The times just get weirder and weirder!
    Great blog you’ve got. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

