A week in the life of Smizz.

The uncharacteristic summery weather of the UK this week has been AMAZING.
Tuesday we had to hand in our essays meaning that we have officially finished Uni for a whole year. This year has gone by far too fast for my liking!
Before I know it, it’s going to be overrrr. Anyways I thought I just moan on this blog, lol. There are many positive aspects to my life that I fail to mention so here’s a somewhat typical over view of a week.

FRIDAY 2ND MAY

Site

In a true socialite fashion, I pretend to be a middle classer of Sheffield and attend a ‘buzzing’ gallery opening at the prestigious Site Gallery. Those shades, don’t belong to me. The hat does. Mental note to ones self is to NOT wear a hat again to a gallery opening unless wanting to attract dirty looks.

The actual exhibition? was shit. It was a performance and one of the most mind numbing experiences of my artlife.  I wouldn’t have minded, however, if it wasn’t for Maurie Cool’s HUGE statements that by walking wayyyyyyy slow in a space, and playing around with some paper that she was re-creating the History of Art. How about just being bored in the work place? Now, that would have been funny.

 

SATURDAY

I didn’t get up till 1pm : I changed my essay typo’s and wrote my biblography in Colligate. Afterwards I went home and Top-Shop Sophie; Dancing Sophie; Richie and myself were in the house all together (doesn’t happen often). We decided to watch a movie! We watched Saved. We shared our food between us (I only had spring rolls from Tesco 2 offer). Afterwards we argued over what to watch next. I wanted to watch Brick; or Dark Days and amoungst other stuff – but the Girls and richie totally out voted me and we watched The Devil Wears Prada – Which I’ve seen before about 2 years ago… but in the first 15 minute of the movie (technically the most important part for the audience and in terms of character building) Michael Corris gets a mention. Richie and I automatically like lift our heads up – and we’re like… helll nahhh? Did that just say that?! And we decided that it had to be the real deal M.C. fo’ shizz. Who else is cool enough to have a party to attend?! Other than Mr. Corris. The Devil Wears Prada has gone up in my estimations. We decide that Corris should have a role in the new Sex and the City Movie. What do you think? They always have cool artists on the show.

In the night I have the FREAKEST Nightmare, in which I scream – I screamed loads, jumped out of bed and ran to turn the light on. Shake at the light inspecting all the room. Its always uneasy going back to sleep

SUNDAY:

 I didn’t get up till 1ish again. I checked my mail and hung out around the house for a bit. I started to watch Hardball until Richie disturbed the peace! He demanded me to walk to KFC with him. We bought a Family Feast to share between us; and he makes me carry it home because he doesn’t want the Sports students who litter the streets in bars to judge him. We get in, and Top-Shop Sophie wants to watcha  movie again – so we go to Blockbusters and buy Stardust (again, I’ve seen this before) and She buys the Simple Life 2. We watch Stardust and then the WHOLE series of Simple Life. My braincells are reduced to a mere 40% after the viewing of the Simple Life. I only watched it because I didn’t want to sit upstairs on my own. Whilst at Blockbusters,  I bought running with Sissors – I’ve read the book – so I watch the movie and go to bed at about 3:30am. Just as I’, settling down – I freak myself out again – and i scream once more and run and turn the lights on. This has to stop. So I sleep with the blind wide open (for light) and with radio 1xtra on.

MONDAY

Bank Holiday. I lay in bed till 2pm.  I get up. Go into town. Buy Fraiser season 1 on DVD, a real cool cd Kid Cerole – and a Jack London novel. ride my bike back. The Big Issue guy who stands outside Tescos says Hi- we’re becoming good friends – i dont have to buy them off him anymore for nice chats. I chill upstairs in my room reading my first novel in about half a year. It feels GREAT not 2 read an art book! Whilst listening 2 my new CD which is amazing. I sit outside on the wall with Ella , top-shop; dancing soph and richie. I drink Coke, they drink Wine. We annoy the street with Richie’s Ipod. It’s all goood – untill about 10pm and I decide to go and watch Fraiser.

TUESDAY

We hand in the essay. And waste the rest of the day in the Psalter Lane Resturant 😉 since I haven’t a clue what to do with my new found freedom. It gets to the point where its too late to go home and come back for the MA exhibition opening in the End Gallery. A piece of work has me in it; and I look AWFUL. It bares allllof double chins. I ain’t happy. I never knew it would be used as art! lol. After that Richie and I leave, meet James at the Agraa and we dine in style to celebrate our freedom and the journey!!  On our way back, Richie buys some DVDs. We watch The Host and the officially one of the worst movies of all time – It’s aBoy Girl thing.

WEDNESDAY

I rock and roll into uni to meet up with the group to prepare for our school on Thursday. We make a powerpoint; discuss artists and how we’re going to rock and roll. Afterwards, in boredom, we start planning our European extravagent trip! I go to my ” elitest meeting” announce how I think i’m black to academics and go home. Brendan and I treat ourselves to chips from the chip-shop. I watch some Fraiser, go to Colligiate to pass sometime. End up staying there chatting online to Feebo in Finland till 12:30am. Then Richie and I chat shit and I make the workshops worksheet I go to bed at 3am.

THURSDAY

I have ti get up at 7:00am. We all meet at the station. Brendan can’t make it cuz he smells of Whiskey lol. We have a laugh trying to figure out trains and buses to get to teh school and which stops to get off at.

We get there. we create magic we go home. Then I fall asleep at home at 3pm cuz I’m KNACKERED. and I get a phone call from Sianbohn saying PARTY. So I get up and its a streetparty. We chill out for 5 hours and rock and roll to the Fuzz club.

 

Leave a Reply

