Art Monthly

Is slowly becoming one of my favourite art zines. About last year, I couldn’t care less… but reading it now – i can feel just the heeps and bounds that I have overcome. I understand loadssss of art theory and debates now. Unlike last year.

But reading through the issues, right at the end, it states who wrote it and what they do. Of course, in my mind I like to think the writer choose what kind of “facebook” status they give themselves. For example, ” Dave Beech is an artist.” 

“Ian Hun is editor of Art Monthly”

One of them was a reader of fine art and Art Monthly. A reader!?!

Surely anyone is a reader of Fine Art if you pick up a book. Skepticism right.

Well I’ve been thinking, what would my Art Monthly Facebook type of status be? I have come up with:

Sarah Smizz is an artist of some sort.  /// Sarah Smizz vandalises and calls it art. /// Sarah Smizz is a revolutionary. /// Sarah Smizz is an art student who hates the institution but jumps through their hoops. // Sarah Smizz is an idiot. //// Sarah Smizz is an artist in Sheffield. /// Sarah Smizz is a reader. // Sarah Smizz is a reader of Heat (i’m not) //// Sarah Smizz really has no opinion on this subject. /// sarah smizz should hibernate. /// Sarah Smizz is a lonely artist. //// Sarah Smizz fancies the idea of Jean Baudrillard. /// Sarah Smizz is a Sarah Smizz// Sarah Smizz this is not a sarah smizz // Sarah Smizz is  a writer on art (she wrote an essay once) and writes on her blog. /// Sarah Smizz is an artist cuz she says she is. /// Sarah Smizz is hungry (I really am) /// Sarah Smizz has no common sense. /// Sarah Smizz sometimes calles herself a philosopher. // Sarah Smizz is a ghettoblaster and gun poet. /// Sarah Smizz is an artist in the Donx ghetto. /// sarah smizz is a working class artist. /// Sarah Smizz is an art student at Sheffield Hallam University.

 

Yeah. And did you know? i’m going to share my wisdom wid y’all right now. Art world is not one word and should not have a capital (unless at the start of the sentence). You know why? because it’s not a realllllll place!! Can you believve that? I was hoping to book 2 go there!!!

On other news – my moms just called me 2 tell me shes bought me a HUGE 2 foot picture of New York. Awwwwwhhh. I always thought I was out of sight .. out of mind. This time I’m not! Ace.

Leave a Reply

