Arts in schools and Working class attainment shizz.

Holla at your girl. Read the Guardian today. And think we should all read this article about 5 hours a week culture in schools! http://arts.guardian.co.uk/art/visualart/story/0,,2256243,00.html Interesting stuff. This is why Schools should get right on StreetForm right now. Because we are shit-hot! On other news:  http://education.guardian.co.uk/universityaccess/story/0,,2256304,00.htmlIts taken the government 2 years to figure out that that Working class people are “put off going to university because of top-up fees” no shizzle man. I could have told you that in 2005 when you were thinking about it. I can also tell you that a 1,000 bursary (700 from the Maintenance grant and  300 because I come from one of those schools where no one goes to University) doesn’t even come close to the amount of debt that you’re making us create for ourselves. Those richer than the people who  come from poor working class homes, their parents pay for their Rent. Us working class lot gotta pay it for ourselves. You spend all your loan on booze and that new laptop? Never mind, mom will pay this quarters rent. No problems. Us? We gotta eat 8p Tesco noodles for a week JUST to make sure we don’t spend our rent because if we do, we are foooooked.Most of my hommies who didn’t go to university were more than capable to. Kezwilla inparticularily, who now works at Morrisons in the cafe. She always said, ” I ain’t gettin’ in debt” Ironically, regardless of whether you attend university or not – we are all going to be in huge amount of debt because that’s how our society rolls – unless you are one of the rich few, who have those connections – whose parents pay for your rent and or their tuition fees. I’m so poor, that my mom owes ME  £350. And I’m still awaiting my birthday money (she wrote in my card I.O.U) from Jan.

One thought on “Arts in schools and Working class attainment shizz.

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Tim Ramsey

Leave a Reply

