Sheffield the safest city in the UK? MY ASS!!

Those select few of my 156 viewers a week, readers – who may or may not be from the UK – should know that if you are planning to live, study or even just visit Sheffield it is renown for its safe environment and very low crime rate- especially considering tha it is a city in an extremely deprived area, from the collapse of the steal works.
Now I don’t take statistics at face value, I never have – On the contary, I HATE statistics (with this too famous quote, “People only say statistics when they get backed into a corner…” – this indeed is also true) I don’t think that they are truer facts – and if I was doing a piece of research I might look at statsitics – but i’d much rather go for the qualitative research methods as apposed to quantitative which statistics are part of.
Now I haven’ decided to blog this just to give you a gcse social studies debate on the relativeness and usefullness of research methods – But to WARN all people in Sheffield and the world in general – and to use my lil fustration (not much to be honest) productively, slightly. (she says bloggin instead of doing artwork at 11:50pm)
Last night my studio art group wanted to give me a belated birthday celebration which included a drink at this pub that resembled something off the old, retired BBC sitcom? drama? show called, “Goodnight Sweetheart”. This pub, the name escapes me now, is just across fro the Access Space art studio and on the same road as SHU union and the Showroom. Inbetween the showroom and this pub, and across from the Union is some bike racks. So in my poor unemployed state – and with one of my new years resolutions to be more fit and bike places instead of catching the bus- I decided to take my bike believing that Sheffield center was pretty safe- espcially in that area and since it had a nice bike lock on it- should be fine. With it could get stolen in the back of my mind.
Well we went 2 watch a movie, but it had sold out so we headed to the Odeon to find it latest showing started at 8:30 and it was now 9:10. So we settled to chillin at Bears and Bungalow’splace on Division street. It was ace. a nice night out and I discovered an alcoholic substance that was real nice- Sailor Jerks and Coke- try it sometime!
It came to 12ish and some people decided to go, and i decided to go with them. But they were all going the opposite way, i neede dto get my bike near teh Showroom so alone I travelled along the empty dark streets of sheffield( I always thought taht a city would be more packed) I got to the top of the street and I could tell that my bike had been stolen, i could see the bike racks empt. Not even my chain left. Fook.
Then like a movie, it just started to rain as I stood alone, cold, in my none-waterproof hood and had to walk 0.6 miles back to my place in china town in the dark, in the rain – feelin fooked off at a theif.
But never mind, perhaps it was a sign??
Anyways this is a lesson to be learnt. Don’t be a tight ass! I could have got the bus for 1.10 (rip off) and then walked home with some(still in the rain though) Instead I will now have to pay £60 insurance excess or even worse £300 for a new bike.
So you’re all thinking, well. That doesn’t really proove that its actually unsafe or whatever. Here is what happened to some of my friends – since October of 2006
One friend got broken into – at our student accomdation! and had his laptop, weed and £50 stolen.
Someone else at our place had a brick thrown at/through her window
Someone tried crowbarring our door open to the accomodation
Another collegaue had their bike stolen, which also was chained up outside our place, stolen
Another friend of mine got beat up by randoms near Waitrose supermarket.
Not forgetting there is a road somewhere behind us that 3 people had been raped on last year alone.

And there’s more but thats only a small thing.
So is Sheffield the safest city in the uk? MY bum, yo. Hell No. I don’t believe anybody who tells you otherwise. if any of you guys have a suspension bike that you are wanting to sell or give away. please contact me on myspace. thelink is at the side. Thank you very muchoooo

2 thoughts on “Sheffield the safest city in the UK? MY ASS!!

  1. Wow… thats uber unlucky! But, you like cities like New York… that sorta shit happens there too… so its just bringing ya that one step closer to ya one true home.

  2. Yeah…but the statistics don’t say there is NO crime, they say it is relatively low for a city. What has happened to you and your pals is unfortunate, not evidence that Sheffield is not the safest city in the UK.

Leave a Reply

